Three Broncos Receive WWPA Post-Season Honors

Three Broncos Receive WWPA Post-Season Honors

April 30, 2007

WWPA Press Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - The Western Water Polo Association announced it's All-Conference honorees Sunday following the final match of the WWPA Championships, and three Broncos were among the 2007 award recipients. Seniors Kristin Barnes and Katie Radvanyi earned first-team honors and senior Andrea Evans received second-team honors, while head coach Keith Wilbur was named Coach of the Year.

Following a senior season in which she led the Broncos with 43 goals, Katie Radvanyi was named to the All-WWPA first team. Also receiving first-team honors was senior goalie Kristin Barnes, who led the Broncos all through the WWPA Championships, and finished the season with a team-high 158 blocks.

Earning second-team All-WWPA honors was senior Andrea Evans, who finished the season tied for third in goal-scoring with 33 goals despite missing the first part of the season.

Also on the list of award recipients was Broncos head coach Keith Wilbur, who was named WWPA Coach of the Year. For the season, Wilbur led the Broncos to a 22-14 record, including a conference-best record of 16-5 against the WWPA.

Following another great season, the women's water polo team will hold their annual alumni game next Saturday, May 5 at Malley Pool beginning at 12:00 noon.

2007 All-WWPA Honors

First-Team All-Western Water Polo Association
Goalie: Kristin Barnes, Santa Clara
Sarah Bajorek, UC San Diego
Cara Colton, Loyola Marymount
Katherine O'Rourke, UC Davis
Amanda Ortiz, Cal State Bakersfield
Stacia Peterson, Loyola Marymount
Katie Radvanyi, Santa Clara

Second-Team All-Western Water Polo Association
Goalie: Kim Hockett - UC San Diego
Freyja Berg - Cal State San Bernardino
Andrea Evans - Santa Clara
Katie Hicks - Loyola Marymount
Natalie Hockett - UC San Diego
Cassie Schaefer - UC Davis
Jessica Soza - UC Davis

Honorable Mention All-Western Water Polo Association
Goalie: Kaylee Caster, Loyola Marymount
Yulina Blinovskaya, Cal State Bakersfield
Sarah Hamilton, Loyola Marymount
Chelsea Laning, Cal State Monterey Bay
Christi Raycraft, UC Davis
Ashley Vieira, Cal State East Bay
Laurien White, Colorado State

Coach of the Year: Keith Wilbur, Santa Clara

Player of the Year: Stacia Peterson, Loyola Marymount

Newcomer of the Year: TBA at a later date

2007 Women's Water Polo Blog
January 25, 2007 2007 Women's Water Polo Blog