Women's Water Polo Earns Sixth Straight Win

Women's Water Polo Earns Sixth Straight Win

Feb. 13, 2005

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - The 20th-ranked Santa Clara University women's water polo team posted a 17-4 victory over Cal State Monterey Bay this afternoon at the Leavey Pool. Catherine Flynn scored three goals to lead the Broncos, as the team's record improves to 6-2. The Otters were led by freshman Chelsea Lanning, who scored three goals. CSUMB is playing its first collegiate season this spring, and sees its record fall to 0-6.

Santa Clara jumped out to a 4-0 lead after one quarter of play, with goals by Bryn Asher, Flynn, Elizabeth Perry and Emily Bonk. Christie Miller added to the Bronco advantage with a second-quarter score to give SCU a 5-1 lead at the half.

Santa Clara added five more goals in the third quarter to push its lead to 10-1, and netted seven scores in the final frame. Ten different Broncos scored, including two each from Erin Scollin, Asher, Katie Radvanyi, Miller and Bonk. Lindsey Bacolini, Danielle Mansfield, Mele Rehder and Perry each posted one goal.

Lanning scored the Otters' lone goal of the first half and posted two more in the fourth quarter. Junior Alex Davis also added a goal in the final period.

"Monterey Bay's program is just getting started and both the players and the coaches had a good attitude and it was most likely a good opportunity for them to play against us," head coach Keith Wilbur said. "At the same time, it was very beneficial for our program; we got a lot of people in the water and we were able to move players around to other positions for additional experience. We also focused on our counterattack, making sure our spacing works well on a smaller course."

Santa Clara will return to action next weekend, with participation in the Slugfest Tournament, hosted by UC Santa Cruz. The Broncos will play open against Pacific at 11:15 a.m. on Saturday, and follow with a 4:15 p.m. contest against Sonoma State. Sunday's action includes matches against Cal State Bakersfield (9:15 a.m.) and UC Davis' club squad (2:15 p.m.).