Women's Water Polo Prepares for WWWPAs

Women's Water Polo Prepares for WWWPAs

April 24, 2002

SANTA CRUZ, Calif. - The Santa Clara University women's water polo team will enter the Women's Western Water Polo Association Championships as the tournament's fifth seed, the organization announced today. The WWWPAs will take place on the campus of UC Santa Cruz this Friday through Sunday.

Loyola Marymount earned the Championship's top seed, followed by UC Davis, UC San Diego and CS Bakersfield. Behind the Broncos are CS San Bernardino, host UC Santa Cruz, Chapman and CS Hayward.

The Lions are the only squad that received a first-round bye in the nine-team championship. Santa Clara will open the weekend against CS Bakersfield on Friday at 4:30 p.m. Depending on the outcome of that game, the Broncos could play at 9:30 a.m. or 2 p.m. on Saturday.

The Broncos are currently 20-13 on the season, and even though the team is 6-8 against this weekend's tournament field, the goal differential only favors the Broncos' opponents by 11 scores. And, although Santa Clara went 0-3 this season against CS Bakersfield, the first two matches were by one-point margins, while the third contest favored the Roadrunners by only two goals. Making this anybody's weekend.

"We're really excited to be competing this weekend," Bronco head coach Steve Hanson said. "The girls really want to take one away from Bakersfield and this is our last chance to do that. We'll be ready."

A complete Tournament schedule follows. Please Click Here for directions to UC Santa Cruz.

Friday, April 26

Game Time Opponents
Game 1 Noon Chapman vs. CS Hayward
Game 2 1:30 p.m. UC Davis vs. UC Santa Cruz
Game 3 3 p.m. UC San Diego vs. CS San Bernardino
Game 4 4:30 p.m. CS Bakersfield vs. Santa Clara
Game 5 6 p.m. LMU vs. Winner Game 1

Saturday, April 27

Game Time Opponents
Game 6 9:30 a.m. Loser game 1 vs. Loser game 4
Game 7 11 a.m. Loser game 2 vs. Loser game 3
Game 8 12:30 p.m. Winner game 2 vs. Winner game 3 (semifinal)
Game 9 2 p.m. Winner game 5 vs. Winner game 4 (semifinal)
Game 10 3:30 p.m. Loser game 5 vs. Winner 6

Sunday, April 28

Game Time Opponents
Game 11 10 a.m. Loser game 10 vs. Loser game 7 (7th Place game)
Game 12 11:15 a.m. Winner 10 vs. Winner 7 (5th Place game)
Game 13 12:30 p.m. Loser game 8 vs. Loser game 9 (3rd Place game)
Game 14 2 p.m. Winner game 8 vs. Winner game 9 (1st Place game)

Higher seed will wear dark caps.