Catherine Surane and Briana Knight Earn All-PCSC Honors

Catherine Surane and Briana Knight Earn All-PCSC Honors

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Santa Clara University juniors Catherine Surane (left) and Briana Knight (right) were named Pacific Coast Softball Conference All-Coastal Division Team players as announced by the league office on Monday. 

Knight (Fairfield/Angelo Rodriguez HS) was named a First Team honoree for the second straight year. She finished the year hitting .413 with 64 total bases, 31 hits, 22 runs, 20 RBI, eight homeruns, seven doubles an on-base percentage of .505 and slugged .853. She led the team in all of those offensive statistical categories and played error-free defense in the outfield.

Knight played in 29 of the team's 39 games overall, missing 10 games in mid-April (including eight PCSC contests) with a sprained ankle. She would go on to hit .438 against PCSC pitching, registering 14 hits (including four homers and three doubles) in 32 at-bats in league play.

Surane (Newbury Park/La Reina HS) garnered her first career PCSC all-league honor. She batted .304 as a starter in all 20 PCSC games, including coming through with clutch hits, posting a .364 average with runners in scoring position and was .357 with runners on base. She started in 29 of Santa Clara's 39 games overall splitting time between third base and catcher.

2011 PCSC All-Coastal Division Team
First Team
Pos. Player Yr. School

C Taylor Hensley** JR San Diego
1B Maryanne Cronin -! SR Saint Mary's
2B Devin Caldwell FR Sacramento State
3B Emily McCormick SO Sacramento State
SS Sam Fischer** -! JR Loyola Marymount
OF Kylie Ahlo JR Loyola Marymount
OF Michelle Mounts** -! JR Saint Mary's
OF Danielle Smith SO Loyola Marymount
UTL Briana Knight JR Santa Clara
P-UTL Megan Schaefer -! SR Sacramento State
P Kaitlin Healy JR San Diego
P Molly Medeiros SO Loyola Marymount

Second Team
Pos. Player Yr. School

C Megan Smith SO Saint Mary's
1B Alyssa Nakken JR Sacramento State
2B Jessica Tieszen JR San Diego
3B Catherine Surane JR Santa Clara
SS Rebecca Sabatini JR Saint Mary's
OF Shannon Kaufman FR Sacramento State
OF Dana Prelsnik FR San Diego
OF Lauren Tomey SO San Diego
UTL Kelly Sarginson JR Loyola Marymount
P Cassidy Coleman FR San Diego
P Britany Linton JR Saint Mary's

Honorable Mention: Olivia Alvarez (SO, 1B), Loyola Marymount; Amy Charpentier (SR, 2B), Loyola Marymount; Kathryn Dutton (FR, C), Loyola Marymount; Meghan Harman (FR, 3B), Loyola Marymount; Amy McIntosh (JR, UTL), Saint Mary's; Ryane Petersen (SR, 1B), CSU Bakersfield; Amy Ricciardi (FR, 2B), CSU Bakersfield; Brittany Sabatini (FR, OF), Saint Mary's; Kimberlee Shimizu (SO, UTL), San Diego; Taylor Stroud (FR, P), Sacramento State; Shelby Voelz (JR, P), Sacramento State.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Taylor Hensley (JR, C), San Diego
Molly Medeiros (SO, RHP), Loyola Marymount - !
Devin Caldwell (2B), Sacramento State
Gary Ferrin, Loyola Marymount

* - Number of first-team selections
! – Unanimous choice
# - Tie