Julie Johnston Named Semi-Finalist For M.A.C. Hermann Trophy

Julie Johnston Named Semi-Finalist For M.A.C. Hermann Trophy

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Following up her West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year award in 2010, Santa Clara women's soccer's Julie Johnston has been named a semi-finalist for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy for her play in 2011.

No stranger to the award, Santa Clara's Mandy Clemens won the Hermann Trophy in 1999 and Aly Wagner won the award in 2002.

"It's an honor to even be recognized as a M.A.C. Hermann Trophy semi-finalist," said Johnston. "To be in a group with the other semifinalist, all of whom are terrific soccer players, makes this season even more special. Being blessed to play with such phenomenal teammates and coaching staff has motivated me to work harder and to be recognized individually makes me want to reach my greatest potential."

"Julie was our most outstanding player this year," said Santa Clara head coach Jerry Smith. "She moved around in terms of different positions so her goal-scoring probably would have been even more had we not played her at center back for a few games. It was critical for us to play her at center back and learn some things as a program and as a team this year with her there. Julie established herself as a non-captain leader and in our biggest games of the year had her best performances. I think that's what you're looking for from your best players and certainly anyone who is up for a national award like the M.A.C. Hermann award. I'm very happy for her and it's a deserved recognition to be at this stage of the award process."

Johnston led the Broncos in points (22), goals (9) and game-winning goals (4). Her nine goals was tied for the conference lead. On Sept. 26 she was named WCC Player of the Week for scoring three goals in two Bronco wins against Washington State and Cal.

The M.A.C. Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Three finalists for the award will be announced on Fri., Dec. 9. They will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis for a news conference on Fri., Jan. 6, 2012, where the winner will be announced. A dinner and form presentation of the award will follow the news conference that evening.

Seven Broncos Honored By WCC
November 8, 2011 Seven Broncos Honored By WCC
Santa Clara Falls To USD
November 4, 2011 Santa Clara Falls To USD
Santa Clara Beats USF 5-0
October 16, 2011 Santa Clara Beats USF 5-0
No. 13 Broncos Tie BYU 0-0
October 13, 2011 No. 13 Broncos Tie BYU 0-0
Broncos Beat No. 17 Cal 3-0
September 25, 2011 Broncos Beat No. 17 Cal 3-0