McCarthy, Bosio Named To Hermann Trophy Watch List

McCarthy, Bosio Named To Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 20, 2008

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Santa Clara junior standouts Stephen McCarthy and Kiki Bosio were each selected to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy watch list by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) it was announced Tuesday. McCarthy is one of 48 players on the men's watch list, while Bosio is one of 47 players on the women's list.

McCarthy (Colleyville, Texas) scored six goals for the Broncos in 2007, helping Santa Clara to its second straight West Coast Conference title with an unbeaten 10-0-2 record. Three of his goals were game-winning performances, including lifting the Broncos to a 3-1 victory over UCLA in the second round of the 2007 NCAA Tournament. For his efforts, McCarthy earned All-WCC second team honors and was named to the NSCAA's All-Far West Region second team. He also received Team of the Season third team accolades from Top Drawer Soccer.

"I'm so honored to be a part of the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy watch list and to represent Santa Clara University," said McCarthy. " There are a lot of amazing players on that list and it's great to be included among them. It's more incentive to work harder and step up my game this year to help Santa Clara be the best."

Bosio (Mission Viejo, Calif.) led SCU in scoring and assists in 2007, netting seven goals and dishing out six assists. With Bosio's help, the Broncos earned their 19th consecutive berth to the NCAA Tournament with a 12-6-3 overall record. She received NSCAA All-West Region second team honors and was named to the All-WCC first team as she finished the season ranked third in the league in shots, fifth in points, fifth in assists and sixth in goals.

Forward Kiki Bosio earned Top Drawer Soccer Team of the Season honors in 2007.

"It is such an honor to be named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List for the season," said Bosio. "I am in the company of so many talented players and I am extremely honored to be considered for this award. Our team is off to a great start this preseason and I am very excited to start playing games. Being named to the list is just one more thing to be excited about for the season."

The Santa Clara women's program has had one M.A.C Hermann Trophy winner and a number of national players of the year during its illustrious history. Aly Wagner captured the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy in 2002. Prior to the M.A.C. Trophy and Hermann Trophy's being merged, Mandy Clemens won both the M.A.C. award and the Hermann Trophy in 1999. Wagner was also Soccer America and Soccer Buzz's Player of the Year in 2001, while Brandi Chastain was the ISAA Player of the Year in 1990.

Players are selected to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List by a committee of Division I coaches who are NSCAA members. In November, the list will be narrowed to 15 semifinalists. Three finalists will be named in early December in conjunction with the NCAA Division I College Cup and will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, January 9, 2009, where the 2008 winning will be announced, with a presentation banquet following.

The women's soccer team opens the 2008 season on Friday, Aug. 22 with the Sixth Annual Rivalry Series contest against San Jose State. Kick off is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. at Spartan Stadium in San Jose.

The 2008 men's squad begins its season on the road on Saturday, Aug. 30 against Loyola University Chicago. Game time is slated for 5 p.m.