Santa Clara Soccer Players Peter Lowry and Meagan Snell Named to Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch Lists

Santa Clara Soccer Players Peter Lowry and Meagan Snell Named to Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch Lists

Aug. 8, 2007

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Santa Clara University soccer stars Peter Lowry and Meagan Snell were each named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy watch list by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) today. Both Lowry and Snell led their respective Bronco team in scoring last season and are heading into their final seasons at SCU. Lowry is one of 29 players on the men's watch list, while Snell is one of 45 players on the women's watch list.

Lowry (Fair Oaks, Calif.) leads a strong Santa Clara men's soccer team into the 2007 season. After reaching the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament last season, the Broncos have their sights set on a trip to the College Cup, which will be held from Dec. 14-16 in Cary, N.C. Lowry was named All-Far West Region First Team and All-West Coast Conference Second Team as a junior, while tying for the team leading in scoring with six goals and two assists for 14 points. He has also earned All-WCC Second Team and All-WCC Honorable Mention recognition during his career. With six goals this season, he would become just the 10th Bronco men's player to reach the 20-goal plateau in their career. Santa Clara won the WCC title for the second time in four years in 2006 and finished the year with a 13-5-5 record.

Lowry hopes to lead SCU to the College Cup in 2007.

Snell (Arroyo Grande, Calif.) had a career year as a junior in 2006 to put herself into the national spotlight. She netted 11 goals and had three assists on the season for 25 points, placing her fourth in the WCC in points and second in goals. She helped the Broncos to a 15-5-1 record and a WCC title last season and SCU earned a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Snell was named All-WCC First Team for her efforts in 2006. She now has 17 goals and 11 assists for her career at Santa Clara.

The Santa Clara women's program has had one M.A.C Hermann Trophy winner and a number of national players of the year during its illustrious history. Aly Wagner captured the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy in 2002. Prior to the M.A.C. Trophy and Hermann Trophy's being merged, Mandy Clemens won both the M.A.C. award and the Hermann Trophy in 1999. Wagner was also Soccer America and Soccer Buzz's Player of the Year in 2001, while Brandi Chastain was the ISAA Player of the Year in 1990.

Players are selected to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List by a committee of Division I coaches who are NSCAA members. In November, the list will be narrowed to 15 semifinalists. Three finalists will be named in early December in conjunction with the NCAA Division I College Cup and will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, January 11, 2008. The winner of the 2007 award will be announced during a nationally-televised news conference that evening.

Both the Bronco men and women's teams open the season on Aug. 31 at Buck Shaw Stadium in a doubleheader. The women's team faces local rival, San Jose State, at 5:30 p.m., followed by the men's match against Alabama A&M at 8:00 p.m. For tickets to Santa Clara soccer, call 408-554-4660.

2007 Roster
June 17, 2008 2007 Roster
Quotes - Santa Clara vs. Cal
September 30, 2007 Quotes - Santa Clara vs. Cal
2007 Women's Soccer Blog
August 31, 2007 2007 Women's Soccer Blog
August 27, 2007 DELETED