Three Women's Soccer Players Named Hermann Trophy Finalists

Aug. 24, 2000

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Senior Heather Aldama, junior Danielle Slaton and sophomore Aly Wagner were named finalists for the 2000 Hermann Trophy, the National Soccer Hall of Fame announced earlier this week.

The Hermann Trophy, college soccer's equivalent to the Heisman Trophy, honors the outstanding male and female collegiate soccer players in the United States. Fifteen male and 15 female finalists were named.

The winners of the 2000 Hermann Trophy will be announced Sat., Dec. 9, in conjunction with the men's College Cup in Charlotte, N.C.

Santa Clara and defending NCAA champion North Carolina field three finalists each. Former player Mandy Clemens became the first Bronco to be honored with the Hermann, when she was announced as the 1999 winner.

Aldama will play this season at both forward and defender positions. She's an honorable mention All-WCC selection and one of six seniors on this year's squad.

Slaton is a preseason All-American at defender. She will miss the first month of the season while competing with the U.S. Olympic Team in Sydney, Australia.

Wagner, last year's West Coast Conference Player of the Year, was also named a preseason All-American midfielder earlier this week.

The Hermann Trophy is named after Robert R. Hermann, founding Chairman of the North American Soccer League. It was first presented in 1967.

The third-ranked Broncos open the season this Friday at Cal Poly. The match begins at 7:30 p.m. in San Luis Obispo.

-- --

Takin' It to the Top
May 25, 2001 Takin' It to the Top
Santa Clara Quotes
November 24, 2000 Santa Clara Quotes