Women's Rowing Has Eight Honored by WCC for Work in the Classroom

Women's Rowing Has Eight Honored by WCC for Work in the Classroom

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Continuing its standard of academic excellence, Santa Clara had eight women's rowers honored by the West Coast Conference for their work in the classroom it was announced Thursday. The Broncos will compete in the WCC Championships at Lake Natoma in Sacramento, Calif. May 12-13 to wrap-up their season.

"Having so many players honored for their academics is a significant substantiation that the Santa Clara rowing team is not just getting its work done on the water but also in the classroom," said Santa Clara women's rowing head coach John Wojtkiewicz. "With such a young team, we are very much creating our own culture as we go, and clear that high academic standards will continue to be a part of that culture. It is also interesting to note that this represents a significant portion of the entire team."

Sophomore Missy Giorgi was named to the WCC All-Academic Team while sophomores Megan Alferness, Carina Brocato, Ana Burgos-Solis, Camille Hayes, Amanda Lajoie and Alexandra Nelson, junior Adrienne Lohe and senior Katie Caudle were All-WCC Honorable Mention. The full WCC All-Academic Team is below.

Name School Class GPA Major
Haley Adams Saint Mary's Sophomore 3.70 Business Administration
Sarah Atkins Gonzaga Sophomore 3.71 Nursing
Naseeb Bhangal Gonzaga Sophomore 3.93 Political Science
Molly Donahue Portland Junior 3.66 Nursing
Katelyn Freund Portland Junior 3.83 Psychology
Missy Giorgi Santa Clara Sophomore 3.76 Sociology/Spanish
Christine Koehler Creighton Senior 3.94 Nursing
Nathalie Lambrecht Saint Mary's Sophomore 3.91 Health Science
Hanna Patrick San Diego Senior 3.52 Psychology
Kat Regan LMU Senior 3.59 Civil Engineering

Honorable Mention: Megan Alferness, SCU; Christina Bennett, SMC; Suzanne Blair, POR; Carina Brocato, SCU; Ana Burgos-Solis, SCU; Katie Caudle, SCU; Brandy Cho, SMC; POR; Shannon Craig, LMU; Hannah Dahlem, POR; Katie Dougherty, CRE; Chris Erhart, LMU; Michelle Geesman, USD; Lucy Grimm, POR; Camille Hayes, SCU; Kayla Heimerman, CRE; Clodagh Hussey, POR; Amanda Lajoie, SCU; Brianna Lamb, USD; Adrienne Lohe, SCU; Lauren Mainero, POR; Amanda Marques, POR; Alexandra Nelson, SCU; Jamie Opra, POR; Elise Perkins, GON; Hayley Pilcher, CRE; Sarah Ryan, POR; Kaitlin Soper, USD; Laura Jo Washle, CRE; Shawna Watanabe, CRE; Paula Welly, GON