Men's Water Polo Team Awards Announced

Men's Water Polo Team Awards Announced
The men's water polo team recently announced its team awards for the 2010-11 season.
Offensive MVP - Nick Poggetti, James Case
Defensive MVP - Michael Wishart
Jeff 'Paco" Kopacek Memorial Award - Mitch Klipa
Iron Horse Award - Joshua Luebke
Coach's Award - Daley Meistrell
The Santa Clara men's water polo team capped another successful season in 2010 with a 19-15 record and a historic win to tie for a program-best finish of third place in the 2010 Men's Water Polo Association Championships, held at the first time at the Broncos' own Sullivan Aquatic Center.

The season, which was the 6th winning season in the history of Santa Clara men's water polo, was highlighted by two distinct victories. In October, the Broncos registered a 12 10 win over then- No. 9 Pepperdine, only the second-ever SCU victory over a Mountain Pacfic Sports Federation side. In the third place game at the WWPA tournament the Broncos posted their first ever defeat of No. 11 UC San Diego.

Click here for a more in-depth recap of the men's water polo team's 2010 season.

Broncos Enter Big Weekend
November 2, 2010 Broncos Enter Big Weekend