Moorhead Named to the All-WWPA Team

Moorhead Named to the All-WWPA Team

Nov. 25, 2001

LOS ANGELES - Senior Jay Moorhead was named to the All-Western Water Polo Association second team, the association announced at the end of last weekend's tournament at Loyola Marymount'ss Burns Recreation Center Pool. LMU's goalie Kevin Paulsen was named the WWPA's Most Valuable Player, as the Lions' head coach, John Loughran, was awarded the 2001 Coach of the Year award.

The following is a breakdown of the 2001 All-WWPA teams:

MVP - Kevin Paulsen - LMU

First Team
Kevin Witt - LMU
Kyle Witt - LMU
Jonathan Samuels - UC San Diego
Vladimir Djapic - UC San Diego
Kevin Rosa - Redlands
Chris Smith - Air Force

Second Team
Lance Onken - UC San Diego
Jay Moorhead - Santa Clara
Tim Rogers - UC Davis
Stephen Smith - La Verne
Darren Nelson - UC Santa Cruz
Scott Torosian - Redlands
Scott Butler - Air Force

Honorable Mention
Tamas Szego - LMU
Brandon Borso - UC San Diego
Travis Engleman - UC Davis
Joe Gonzales - Whittier
Brandon Shroyer - Air Force
Tim Kelsch - Claremont