Four Broncos Earn All-WCC Men’s Tennis Honors

Four Broncos Earn All-WCC Men’s Tennis Honors

By Rico Chow '12

2011 WCC Championship Highlights/Interviews

The West Coast Conference announced its 2011 All-WCC Men's Tennis Team and postseason award winners. Building on the momentum of last year's record breaking season, four Santa Clara Broncos earned spots on the all-conference singles teams. Kyle Dandan was honored as a First Team selection. Maxime Armengaud earned Second Team honors, while John Lamble and Tom Pham received an honorable mention.

The 2011 all-conference first team was selected by the conference coaches, based on overall season performance. All-WCC Second Team members were chosen based on the same criteria, plus performance at the recent WCC Championships.

Players from No. 13-ranked Pepperdine and No. 31-ranked San Diego made up six of the seven spots on the All-WCC First Team. Santa Clara was the only other team to have a first team member on the list in Dandan, who moved up from last year's All-WCC Second Team after playing the top spot for the Broncos all year and ending the competitive season with a 10-10 dual record, 2-3 in WCC play. Earning Second Team Singles honors, Armengaud compiled dual season singles records of 13-9 and 4-2 in WCC action. Armengaud led the Broncos at the No. 2 singles position all year.

With Honorable Mention Singles honors, the blue-chip freshman Lamble earned a dual season record of 12-8, with a 2-3 WCC record, playing at both No. 3 and 4 singles. Pham had an outstanding sophomore season as he collected a 17-3 dual season mark, and 3-3 WCC record as he played primarily at No. 5 singles but advanced to the No. 4 spot for the final five matches. Pham demonstrated an astonishing nine-match win streak from Feb. 6 vs. Loyola Marymount to Mar. 22 with a 6-1, 6-1 win over No. 20 Washington's Tobi Obenaus.

With four Broncos earning all-conference honors, SCU men's tennis (15-8) caps off the 2010-11 season after finishing runner-up at the WCC tournament and earning a No. 49 national ranking.

Click here for official WCC release and full roster of All-WCC honorees.

Below is the full list of All-WCC First and Second Team members in singles and doubles, including honorable mention.

2011 WCC Men's Tennis Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year: Dean Jackson, San Diego
Freshman of the Year: Clarke Spinosa
Coach of the Year: Brett Masi, San Diego

All-WCC First Team Singles
Alex Llompart, Pepperdine
Dean Jackson, San Diego
Finn Tearney, Pepperdine
Kyle Dandan, Santa Clara
Nikola Bubnic, San Diego
Patrick Pohlmann, San Diego
Sebastian Fanselow, Pepperdine

All-WCC Second Team Singles
Alex Ferrero, Portland
Clarke Spinosa, San Diego
Lucas Tirelli, Saint Mary's
Maxime Armengaud, Santa Clara
Nicholas Bjerke, Loyola Marymount

Honorable Mention: John Lamble, SCU; Levin Guillermo, GON; Mark De Castro, USF; Maxime Olivan, SMC; Ola Bakke, USF; Thibaut Visy, USD; Tom Pham, SCU

All-WCC First Team Doubles
Dean Jackson/Patrick Pohlmann, San Diego
Jenson Turner/Sebastian Fanselow, Pepperdine
Gavin Leon/Maxime Olivan, Saint Mary's

All-WCC Second Team Doubles
Clarke Spinosa/Thibaut Visy, San Diego
Mark De Castro/Richard Bucalem, San Francisco
Nikola Bubnic/Nils Schive, San Diego

Honorable Mention: Aris Andreasian/Nicholas Bjerke, LMU; Jacob Hartwig/Ola Bakke, USF