WCC Honors Announced, Rast Named Coach of the Year

WCC Honors Announced, Rast Named Coach of the Year

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – Santa Clara University's Cameron Rast was named the 2010 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year, headlining an extended list of Broncos honored with postseason awards on Wednesday.

Mykell Bates and Erik Hurtado were named to the 2010 All-West Coast Conference First Team while Brandon Zimmerman garnered second team honors. Keigo Kameya and Mark Daus were All-WCC Freshman Team picks. Murphy Campbell, Wesley Culver, Kevin Klasila and Eric Masch were named as honorable mentions.

In all, nine Santa Clara players were honored by the league.

It marks the fourth time in nine seasons Rast has earned the WCC Coach of the Year award. He has now led his alma mater to six NCAA tournaments and four WCC Championships since taking over the Bronco men's soccer program in 2002.

"Cam did such a masterful job of preparing his team for the conference schedule this year," said Santa Clara athletic director Dan Coonan, who signed Rast to contract extension during the offseason. "Being a Santa Clara grad and a member of our Hall of Fame, he is uniquely qualified to act as mentor and role model for these student-athletes. We are very excited that the WCC coaches have chosen to honor Cam in this manner and we couldn't agree more with their choice."

The 2010 Broncos went unbeaten in 13 of 14 games to close out the regular season and win the league title. During that streak, Rast reached the 100-win milestone as a head coach and has moved into third place all-time in WCC coaching victories with 53.

2010 West Coast Conference Player of the Year
Patrick Wallen, So., F, San Diego

2010 West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year

Roger Downes, Jr., D, Loyola Marymount

2010 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year

Steven Evans, MF/F, Portland

2010 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year

Cameron Rast, Santa Clara

2010 All-West Coast Conference First Team

Rafael Baca (Sr, MF, LMU)
Mykell Bates (Jr., D, Santa Clara)                      
Roger Downes (Jr., D, LMU)           
Austin Guerrero (Sr., GK, Portland)
Erik Hurtado (So., F, Santa Clara)
Ryan Kawulok (Jr., D, Portland)
Dylan Leslie (Sr., MF, Saint Mary's)
Cory Norris (Sr., D, San Diego)
Jarad vanSchaik (Sr., MF, Portland)
Patrick Wallen (So., F, San Diego)
Justin Warren (Sr., D, San Francisco)

2010 All-West Coast Conference Second Team

Malcolm Alugas (Jr., D/F, Saint Mary's)
Bryan Burke (Sr., F, San Francisco)
Victor Cortez (Sr., D/MF, San Francisco)
Steven Evans (Fr., MF/F, Portland)
Stefan Thor Eyesteinsson (Sr., MF/D, Gonzaga)
Doug Herrick (Jr., GK, Saint Mary's)
Arthur Jozkowicz (Jr., MF/F, LMU)
Ryan Luke (Sr., F, Portland)
David Ponce (So., F, LMU)          
Stephen Posa (Jr., F/MF, San Diego)
Brandon Zimmerman (Jr., MF, Santa Clara)

2010 All-West Coast Conference Freshman Team

Christian Alvarado (F, LMU)
Ryan Caballero (GK, Gonzaga)
Greg Carter (D, Gonzaga)
Mark Daus (D/MF, Santa Clara)
Steven Evans (MF/F, Portland)
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp (D, San Diego)                       
Nick Hamer (MF, Gonzaga)
Thomas Iwasaki (MF/F, Portland)
Keigo Kameya (F/MF, Santa Clara)
Vegard Karlsen (MF, San Francisco)
Patrick Watson (D, Saint Mary's)

2010 All-West Coast Conference Honorable Mention

Connor Barbaree (Portland), Murphy Campbell (Santa Clara), Marcelo Carminatti (San Diego), Wesley Culver (Santa Clara), Mark Daus (Santa Clara), Dan Delgado (San Diego), Christian Duke (San Diego), Colin Flynn (Gonzaga), Philippe Garre (Gonzaga), Jordan Grider (Saint Mary's), Nick Hamer (Gonzaga), Collin Harrison (Gonzaga), Vegard Karlsen (San Francisco), Kevin Klasila (Santa Clara), Nick Love (Gonzaga), Eric Masch (Santa Clara), Jack McCormack (Loyola Marymount), Logan McDaniel (Loyola Marymount), Trevor Newquist (Saint Mary's), Vincent Ocampo (Loyola Marymount), James Partee (Gonzaga)