Ryan Cochrane Named to Watch List for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy

Sept. 2, 2003

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Santa Clara University junior defender Ryan Cochrane was tabbed as one of 15 players to watch this season for the M.A.C Hermann Trophy that is presented annually to the top collegiate soccer player in the country.

Three schools, Maryland, Wake Forest and defending national champion UCLA, each have a pair of representatives among the 15 players listed. The M.A.C.'s Hermann Trophy is college soccer's version of the Heisman Trophy and represents the highest level of individual achievement in the sport. Past recipients include some of the biggest names in soccer, such as Claudio Reyna, Tony Meola and Alexi Lalas.

"Ryan is one of the anchors of our defense," said head coach Cameron Rast. "His ability to neutralize the other team's best player is one of the main reasons that we have been able to post 14 shutouts during his time here."

Cochrane came to Santa Clara as a highly recruited and touted player out of Leland High School in Portland, Ore. During his freshman year he started all 21 contests for the Broncos and helped anchor a defense that allowed only 0.80 goals per game. For his efforts Soccer America named him a Freshman All-American.

As a sophomore, Cochrane played and started in all 14 matches he was available for the Broncos. The three games he missed were due to his obligations with the U.S. U-20 National Team where he starts on defense. He earned NSCAA All-Far West First Team honors and All-WCC First Team honors in addition to honorable mention All-American honors from College Soccer News.

A preseason All-American selection prior to the start of the 2003 season, Cochrane is one of only four defenders on the Hermann Trophy watch list. He is also one of only two players from the West Coast on the list, joining UCLA midfielder Aaron Lopez Jr.

A nominating committee consisting of conference representatives from each Division I conference for men and women will select a final ballot of the top 15 male and female candidates in early November. The winners of the award are selected through voting by Division I collegiate coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The winners will be announced at a news conference in conjunction with the NCAA Men's College Cup in Columbus, Ohio, in December. The trophy will be presented to the men's and women's winner at a banquet on Friday, Jan. 9, at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

M.A.C. Herman Men's Finalists

Name YearPosition SchoolHometown
Kevin Ara Sr. Midfield Harvard Upland, Calif.
Ryan Cochrane Jr. Defender Santa Clara Portland, Ore.
Clint Dempsey Jr. Midfield Furman Nacogdoches, Texas
Ned Grabavoy Jr. Midfield Indiana New Lenox, Ill.
Matt Haefner Sr. Goalkeeper Pennslyvania Amherst, N.Y.
William Hesmer Sr. Goalkeeper Wake Forest Wilson, N.C.
Sumed Ibrahim Sr. Midfield Maryland Tamale, Ghana
Antou Jallow Jr. Forward Wisconsin-Milwaukee Uppsala, Sweeden
Aaron Lopez Jr. Midfield UCLA Santa Barbara, Calif.
Guy Melamed Jr. Defender Boston College Nofit, Israel
Joseph Ngwenya Sr. Forward Coastal Carolina Bulwayo, Zimbabwe
Abe Thompson Jr. Forward Maryland Fairfax Station, Va.
David Wagenfuhr Sr. Defender Creighton Colorado Spring, Colo.
Jeremiah White Sr. Forward Wake Forest Lansdowne, Pa.
Chris Wingert Jr. Defender St. John's Babylon, N.Y.
Postmatch Quotes
December 12, 2003 Postmatch Quotes
Postmatch Quotes
November 30, 2003 Postmatch Quotes
Walker Reaching New Heights
November 13, 2003 Walker Reaching New Heights
One on One with Matt Upton
October 20, 2003 One on One with Matt Upton
Bronco Talk
September 29, 2003 Bronco Talk
Back Where They Belong
August 19, 2003 Back Where They Belong