Five Broncos Earn All-WCC Honors

Five Broncos Earn All-WCC Honors

April 16, 2009

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Santa Clara University had five student-athletes receive to the 2009 West Coast Conference Postseason Awards. Sophomore Miki Ueoka of the women's team and freshman Cory Mehl of the men's program each earned a spot on the All-WCC first team. Junior Jimmy Cacho and freshmen Meaghan Kari and Tammy Surtees were named honorable mentions.

Ueoka had a tremendous comeback at the WCC Championships. She was tied for 21st place at the end of the first round and finished tied for 2nd overall by the end of the tournament to help the Broncos to a third place finish. It was the highest finish by a Bronco female in WCC Tournament history. The Lihue, Hawaii native was named the conference's Player of the Month for February and March after winning back-to-back individual titles. Her first was at the Boise State Invitational in October, her second came at the Fresno State Golf Classic in February and her third was at the Sacramento State Invitational. Her rounds of 68 and 69 at the Fresno State Golf Classic are the lowest two rounds ever recorded by a Bronco women's golfer.

Mehl compiled his best performance of the season as he finished fourth overall at the WCC Championships. He shot three-under par 313 with scores of 72-69-72 to lead Santa Clara to a tied for fifth place finish. The Seattle, Wash., native also shot his career-best low round of 69 in the second 18.

Cacho produced his third top-10 finish of the season as he tied for eighth.

Kari and Surtees both had top-20 finishes at the WCC Championships, tying for 13th.

Pepperdine sophomore Andrew Putnam and San Francisco junior Danielle Cvitanov were named the 2009 WCC Men's and Women's Golf Players of the Year, while San Diego's Alex Ching and Pepperdine's Lisa McCloskey were named WCC Freshman of the Year.

San Francisco took home WCC Coach of the Year honors on the men's and women's side. The men's head coach Gary Nelson helped lead his team to its first WCC title since 1990, while women's head coach Ria Quazon guided her team to its eighth straight second place finish.

Alex Ching, San Diego
Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Blake Trimble, San Diego
Cory Mehl, Santa Clara
Daniel Cone, Saint Mary's
Derek Cheney, Gonzaga
Domingo Jojola, San Francisco
Greg Moss, Loyola Marymount
Josh Anderson, Pepperdine
Kyle Huus, Gonzaga

Chris Cunningham, San Francisco
Ian Coffman, San Diego
Jimmy Cacho, Santa Clara
Kurt Nino, San Francisco
Shane Mason, Pepperdine
Terence Macatangay, Portland

Christina Stockton, San Francisco
Danielle Cvitanov, San Francisco
Diana Hong, San Francisco
Jayvie Agojo, Pepperdine
Jessica Wallace, Pepperdine
Kaitlin Drolson, Pepperdine
Lisa McCloskey, Pepperdine
Miki Ueoka, Santa Clara
Rachel Sibbitt, Gonzaga
Taylore Karle, Pepperdine

Meaghan Kari, Santa Clara
Natasha Podmore, San Francisco
Paige Rachor, Portland
Tammy Surtees, Santa Clara
Tinna Johannsdottir, San Francisco