Men's Crew Races at LMU Invitational

April 17, 2004

Complete Results

MARINA DEL REY, Calif. - The Santa Clara University men's crew defeated the University of Southern California in the varsity eight final by just under a second to highlight its team performance at the LMU Invitational Regatta at Ballona Creek Saturday.

The men's novice eight finished in second place, behind USC and ahead of UC Santa Barbara, while the Broncos took also took a victory in the 500-meter sprint.

The varsity eight, which consists of Nick Bickes, Juan Perez, Bryce Davidson, Ned Matthews, John Zevenbergen, Justin Ungson, Michael Rhoads, Alex Nickel and Ben Johnson, registered a time of 6:31.6 to defeat the second-place Trojans' time of 6:32.3. The conditions for the event was a light chop.

The Junior Varsity Eight lineup was:
Cox - Elizabeth Garvin
Stroke - Daniel Jordan
7 - Stephen Kwei
6 - Jarrod Wells
5 - Dan Parames
4 - Alex Gorman
3 - Geoff Wellington
2 - Tony Johnson
Bow - Victor Vazquez

The Novice Eight lineup was:
Cox - Pat Maquire
Stroke - Tony Guglielmi
7 - Scott Donahue
6 - Kevin Leary
5 - Clayton Hoefer
4 - Trevor Gray
3 - Alex Wilbanks
2 - Chris Bates
) Bow - Kevin Holbrook