Nash Heads into Naismith Hall of Fame

Nash Heads into Naismith Hall of Fame

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - One of the best players in Santa Clara men's basketball history, Steve Nash will reach the pinnacle of his playing career with his induction Friday into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Jason Kidd, Grant Hill, Ray Allen, Maurice Cheeks, Charlie Scott, Dino Radja, the WNBA's Tina Thompson and Katie Smith, coach Lefty Driesell, executives Rick Welts and Rod Thorn, and Ora Mae Washington join Nash as inductees.

Nash played 19 seasons in the NBA where he was an eight-time all-star and seven-time All-NBA choice. He earned league MVP in both 2004-05 and 2005-06 as a member of the Phoenix Suns.

Nash led the Broncos to three NCAA Tournament appearances and was named the West Coast Conference Player of the Year in both 1995 and 1996.

The induction ceremony from Springfield, Massachusetts, will be shown on NBA TV beginning at 4 p.m. Pacific.