Women's Water Polo

SCU Women’s Water Polo Honored for Academic Achievement

SANTA CLARA, Calif. – The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) recognized the Santa Clara University women's water polo program as one of the top achieving teams academically for the 2011 season.

The Broncos posted a cumulative team GPA of 3.04 and five players earned a GPA of 3.2 or higher. Junior driver Sarah Safir (Los Gatos, Calif./Los Gatos) led all players with a 3.66 GPA, followed closely by senior Jade Look (Honolulu, Hawaii/Iolani School) at 3.51, sophomore Makena Pezzuto (Crockett, Calif./St. Patrick - St. Vincent), sophomore Alison Norris (Saratoga, Calif./Saratoga) and senior Taylor Harkins (Newport Beach, Calif./Corona del Mar).

2011 ACWPC Academic Honorees (SCU)

3.41 to 3.7: Superior

Sarah Safir
, Santa Clara (Marketing and Finance, 3.662)
Jade Look, Santa Clara (Finance, 3.515)
Makena Pezzuto
, Santa Clara (Marketing, 3.423)
Alison Norris
, Santa Clara (Psychology, 3.417)
3.2 to 3.4: Excellent

Taylor Harkins
, Santa Clara (Marketing, 3.292)
**Team GPA - Santa Clara University (3.042)

**The Broncos were one of just 28 teams nationally to earn a team GPA of 3.04 or better.
For a complete list of the 2011 ACWPC All-Academic Honorees click here.

Earlier this summer, the Broncos had eight players recognized on the Western Water Polo Association All-Academic team. Not only were the Broncos successful in the classroom, but the team went 12-7 against the WWPA in the pool and finished third among nine teams at the 2011 conference championships.

2010-11 WWPA All-Academic Teams (SCU)

Sarah Safir, Santa Clara (Marketing and Finance, 3.662)
Jade Look, Santa Clara (Finance, 3.515)
Makena Pezzuto, Santa Clara (Marketing, 3.423)
Alison Norris, Santa Clara (Psychology, 3.417)
Taylor Harkins, Santa Clara (Marketing, 3.292)
Whitney Allen
, Santa Clara (Public Health Sciences, 3.069)
Jenny Anderson
, Santa Clara (Communications, 3.038)
Wren White
, Santa Clara (Sociology, 3.007)

For a complete list of the 2010-11 WWPA All-Academic Teams click here.