Four Broncos Earn All-WCC Honors

Four Broncos Earn All-WCC Honors

Nov. 29, 2008

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Four Santa Clara volleyball standouts were recognized by the West Coast Conference this year as the 2008 All-WCC Teams were announced this week.

Anna Cmaylo received first team honors, while fellow middle blocker Tanya Schmidt was named to the All-Freshman team. Receiving honorable mentions nods were setter Lindsy Davigeadono and outside hitter Brittany Lowe.

Cmaylo, a 6-4 senior from Napa, Calif., led the Broncos with 98 blocks and a 38.6 hitting percentage. The middle blocker shattered Santa Clara's 15-year-old career block assists record this season and currently has a tally of 391. For her efforts, Cmaylo was twice named the WCC's Player of the Week (Sept. 22 and Oct. 6). In the league, she was second in hitting percentage, third in blocks, eighth in points and aces, and ninth in kills.

Schmidt, a 6-3 freshman from Cupertino, Calif., received her first honor from the WCC this year. The middle blocker compiled a 31.7 hitting percentage and posted 60 blocks, helping Santa Clara lead the conference this year in blockers per set. Schmidt was named to the Sheraton Four Points Wildcat Invitational All-Tournament team earlier this season. Lowe, a 6-0 senior from Yorba Linda, Calif., received her fourth straight honor from the WCC this season as she led SCU with 323 kills and 33 aces. Lowe was second on the team with 2.52 digs per set. The outside hitter was named MVP of the Sheraton Four Points Wildcat Invitational hosted by Arizona and compiled 10 double-doubles. Lowe led the WCC in service aces and ranked fourth in kills and points.

Davigeadono, a 6-0 junior from Sonora, Calif., earned her third straight honor from the WCC this season. She moved to the setter position this year and led the Broncos with 995 assists. She also posted 87 blocks and 18 aces. She was named to the Stanford Invitational All-Tournament team in September. In the WCC, she ranked third in assists and eighth in blocks.

San Diego and Pepperdine split the top honors this year. Torero Amy DeGroot was named Player of the Year, while head coach Jennifer Petrie was honored as the Coach of the Year. The Waves Kim Hill and Stevi Robinson were named Freshman and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively.

The Broncos await the announcement of the 64-team field of the 2008 NCAA Division I Championships on Sunday, Nov. 30.