Five Broncos Receive WCC Hard Court Honors

Five Broncos Receive WCC Hard Court Honors

Santa Clara, Calif.—The West Coast Conference announced post-season tennis awards today, and acknowledged five Broncos, including Katie Le as Freshman of the Year. The Broncos recently completed the most successful season in program history, compiling a .739 winning percentage with a 17-6 overall record.

2011 WCC Post Season Honors

Player of the Year: Alex Poorta, Saint Mary's

Freshman of the Year: Katie Le, Santa Clara

Coach of the Year: Sherri Stephens, San Diego


2011 All-WCC First Team – Singles 

Alex Poorta, Saint Mary's

Anamika Bhargava, Pepperdine

April Bisharat, Loyola Marymount

Arianna Colffer, Pepperdine

Catherine Isip, Saint Mary's

Laura Claus, San Diego


2011 All-WCC Second Team – Singles

Claire Soper, Saint Mary's

Juliette Coupez, San Diego

Katie Le, Santa Clara

Lacey Pflibsen, Portland

Khunpak Issara, Pepperdine

Stephanie Hoffpauir, San Diego


Honorable Mention: Andrea Oates, PEP; Anna Depenau, USD; Cecilia Gratian, USF; Jenny Jullien, SMC; Josymar Escalona, USD; Kacie Wagner, SCU; Kelly Lamble, SCU; Maja Sujica, USD; Rika Mendhiratta, GON


2011 All-WCC First Team – Doubles

Ale Granillo/Khunpak Issara, Pepperdine

Anamika Bhargava/Marie Zalameda, Pepperdine

Juliette Coupez/Stephanie Hoffpauir, San Diego


2011 All-WCC Second Team – Doubles

April Bisharat/Melissa Valenzuela, Loyola Marymount

Claire Soper/Jenny Jullien, Saint Mary's

Jessica Agra/Katie Le, Santa Clara


Honorable Mention: Anna Depenau/Maja Sujica, USD; Catherine Isip/Laurie Gingras, SMC; Cecile Duriez/Yurie Hashiguchi, USF; Danielle Farmer/Rika Mendhiratta, GON; Josymar Escalona/Laura Claus, USD; Kelly Lamble/Maggie McGeorge, SCU; Lacey Pflibsen/Valeska Hoath, POR