Women's Soccer

Seven Broncos Earn All-WCC Honors

Seven Broncos Earn All-WCC Honors

Nov. 12, 2008

All-WCC Release Get Acrobat Reader

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - The Santa Clara women's soccer team had seven players earn All-West Coast Conference accolades for their performances this season, it was announced Wednesday. Leading the Bronco honorees is junior tri-captain Katherine Reynolds, who earned All-WCC First Team honors for the first time in her career. This is the second conference honor for Reynolds, who was named to the All-WCC Second Team last season. Reynolds led Santa Clara with three goals and four assists, and was the most versatile player on the roster as she started at forward, midfield and defender.

Sophomore Kendra Perry was named to the All-WCC Second Team, after being an all-conference freshman selection last year. Perry got on the board for the first time in her career this season, scoring three times, including one game-winning goal. The East Bay native has been a consistent force for the Broncos all season at midfield.

Earning first-time honors were Margueritte Aozasa and Bianca Henninger who were named to the WCC All-Freshman Team. Aozasa made an immediate impact in her first season at SCU as an adaptable player splitting time between midfield and defender. She saw time in all 20 games this season, starting 18, and scored a goal and posted an assist. Goalkeeper Henninger played in seven games and started three, notched 20 saves and earned her first career win at keeper.

Santa Clara tallied three All-WCC Honorable Mention honorees in sophomore tri-captain Maxine Goynes, solo senior Meagan McCray and redshirt junior Hayley Siegel. Goynes, who was named to the conference all-freshman team last season, moved from defender to forward in the last six games of the season to became an immediate offensive threat. Goalkeeper McCray posted three shutouts and 62 saves this season; this is her second career honor. Siegel, who missed last season due to injury, received her first career conference honor. She became a consistent player in the midfield, tallying an assist in 19 games.

The Broncos concluded the 2008 campaign on Saturday, Nov. 8, with a scoreless double overtime draw versus Gonzaga.

2008 WCC Player of the Year
Megan Rapinoe, POR
Freshman of the Year
Danielle Foxhoven, POR
Defensive Player of the Year
Brittany Cameron, USD
Coach of the Year
Garrett Smith, POR

Brittany Cameron, USD
Ashley Copp, PEP
Danielle Foxhoven, POR
Sheridan Jones, GON
Jen Mello, USD
Megan Rapinoe, POR
Katherine Reynolds, SCU
Amanda Rupp, PEP
Sophie Schmidt, POR
Lily Sorentino, LMU
Jackie Zinke, USD

Kelsey Davis, POR
Michelle Enyeart, POR
Amy Epsten, USD
Kristina Hall, USF
Tiffany Harrison, LMU
Amanda Lernor, LMU
Shannon Omahen, LMU
Kendra Perry, SCU
Elli Reed, POR
Natalie Vinti, USD
Emily Wynne, PEP

Charney Burk, POR
Alyssa Clark, LMU
Laura Cole, PEP
Lori Conrad, GON
Kim Feeney, LMU
Julie Gallaudet, LMU
Maxine Goynes, SCU
Sam Hire, PEP
Katherine Kimure, USF
Ashley Kirk, USD
Elissa Magracia, USD
Meagan McCray, SCU
Ashley Nied, SMC
Stephanie Ochs, USD
Michelle Olivier, POR
Courtney Peacock, GON
Stefani Rocco, SMC
Hayley Siegel, SCU
Myriah Stockman, PEP
Kayla Stolte, PEP
Jessica Tsao, POR
Keelin Winters, POR

Margueritte Aozasa, SCU
Charney Burk, POR
Laura Cole, PEP
Danielle Foxhoven, POR
Natalie Garcia, USD
Bianca Henninger, SCU
Elissa Magracia, USD
Stephanie Ochs, USD
Michelle Olivier, POR
Courtney Peacock, GON
Myriah Stockman, PEP