Ballouchy Listed Among Nation's Best

Ballouchy Listed Among Nation's Best

Nov. 17, 2005

Earlier in the week, Santa Clara University junior midfielder Mehdi Ballouchy was named the West Coast Conference Player of the Year. Today it was announced that he is among the 15 semifinalists being considered for the 2005 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious individual award in intercollegiate soccer.

Ballouchy is among the roster of top intercollegiate players selected by a panel of NCAA Division I coaches to comprise the selection pool for 2005. The award, which is the official National Soccer Coaches Association of America Player of the Year award for Division I competition, is regarded as college soccer's version of the Heisman Trophy.

The winner will be determined in voting by NSCAA Division I member coaches. Three men's and three women's finalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy will be announced at the 2005 Men's College Cup on Dec. 9. The finalists will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2006, for the announcement of the winner at a press conference which will be telecast live by ESPNews. Both winners will be presented the prestigious crystal soccer ball trophy at a banquet later that evening.

An exhibition featuring the current winners and past winners of the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy is on display at the National Soccer Museum in Oneonta, N.Y.

Santa Clara is 12-6-2 on the season and plays Ohio State in the first round of the NCAA Tournament Friday at Buck Shaw Stadium. Tickets to the 7 p.m. match are available by calling 408/554-4660 or at the gate. Prices are $8 for adults and $6 for youths, seniors and students from the participating schools.

2005 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Semifinalists
Mehdi Ballouchy, Jr., MF, Santa Clara, Casablanca, Morocco
Greg Dalby, Jr., MF, Notre Dame, Poway, Calif.
Jason Garey, Sr., F, Maryland, Gonzales, La.
Matt Groenwald, Sr., Gk, St. John's, Mt. Prospect, Ill.
Patrick Ianni, Jr., MF UCLA, Lodi, Calif.
Aaron King, Sr., F, North Carolina State, Denver, Colo.
Sacha Kljestan, Jr., MF, Seton Hall, Huntington Beach, Calif.
Justin Moose, Sr., F, Wake Forest, Statesville, N.C.
Randi Patterson, Jr., F, UNC-Greensboro, Hackensack, N.J.
Jacob Peterson, Jr., F, Indiana, Portage, Mich.
Brian Plotkin, Sr., MF, Indiana, Lisle, Ill.
Jeff Rowland, Sr., F, New Mexico, Albuquerque, N.M.
Michael Videira, So., MF, Duke, Milford, Mass.
Marvell Wynne, So., D, UCLA, Poway, Calif.
Jed Zayner, Jr., D, Indiana, Overland Park, Ill.