Kertson To Compete In Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

Kertson To Compete In Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

SANTA CLARA, Calif. – Santa Clara men's golfer Tyler Kertson is one of 87 elite amateur golfers scheduled to compete in the 48th Pacific Coast Amateur Championship in Flagstaff, Ariz. beginning July 22. The par-72, 7,272 yard Jay Morrish designed Pine Canyon Club will host the 72-hole, four-day stroke play competition, for the chance to raise the Dr. Ed Updegraff trophy as champion of one of the Pacific Coast's most historic golfing events.

Kertson, from Paradise Valley, Ariz., just completed his first year with the Broncos earning West Coast Conference 'Freshman of the Year' honors after competing in all 33 rounds over 11 events. He compiled a team-best 73.45 stroke average and eight sub-par rounds earning one top-10 and four top-20 finishes during the 2013-2014 season. Kertson is one of 13 native Arizonans looking to emerge victorious.

Notable players in the field at this years' Championship will be a former Cal State Fullerton Titan Mark Anguiano, ranked No.24/59 in the world according to WAGR/S.P., former UC Davis Aggie Matt Hansen (No. 88/96), University of Washington Husky Jonathan Sanders (No. 90/184) and Lorens Chan of UCLA (No. 98/72).

All players will be vying for the individual Ed Updegraff Trophy, named after the longtime volunteer and standout amateur golfer who played on three Walker Cup teams (1963, 1965 & 1969), won the 1967 Pacific Coast Amateur title and was the 1999 Bob Jones Award recipient from the USGA.

Held on an annual basis since 1967, with roots dating back to 1901, the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship boasts a rich history of showcasing some of the most talented golfers in the United States and Canada. In recent years, players from across the world have sought to compete in the event, including this year when players will be representing New Zealand, Chile, France and Australia.

Past champions of the Pacific Coast Amateur who have gone on to successful professional careers include PGA Tour winners Billy Mayfair (1987, 1988), Jason Gore (1997) and Ben Crane (1998) as well as Tour winners and brothers Michael Putnam (2004) and Andrew Putnam (2010).

For more information on the Championship, visit

For a full listing of players, click here