Three Golfers Earn WCC All-Academic Team Recognition

Scott Lowe (Brenda Miller Photo)
Scott Lowe (Brenda Miller Photo)

SANTA CLARA, Calif. – Three members of the Santa Clara men's and women's golf teams earned West Coast Conference All-Academic Team honors, the league office announced today. Taylor Camany and Kaci McCartan of the women's team and Scott Lowe of the men's team were named.

Camany (Salinas, Calif./Salinas HS), a junior, is a three-time All-Academic Team pick after earning honors in 2011 and 2012. She was also a NGCA Academic All-American and first-team All-WCC honoree in 2012. An accounting major, Camany has a 79.05 stroke average, the second lowest on the team, in 22 rounds this season. She matched her best score of the season with a 73 in the final round of the Cowgirl Classic on April 10.

McCartan, a sophomore from Plano, Tex. (Ursuline Academy) was a 2012 NGCA Academic All-American. She has competed in five events playing 13 rounds this season with a best of 73 in the WSU Cougar Cup.

Lowe, a junior from Calgary, Alberta Canada (Edge School) is one of three student-athletes named to the All-Academic Team for a second straight year. An accounting major, Lowe has scored at or under par in seven of his 24 rounds with a 76.21 stroke average in nine events.

All-Academic team members must have been at the school for at least one full year, maintain at least a 3.2 grade-point average and be a significant contributor to the team.

Both teams are headed to the WCC Championships next week, which take place at Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash., between Monday, April 15 and Wednesday, April 17.

Men's WCC All-Academic Team: Kevin DeHuff (Pepperdine), James Fahy (Gonzaga), Grant Forrest (San Diego), Alexis Gemme-Piacente (San Diego), Ben Geyer (Saint Mary's), Jordan Hammer (BYU), Scott Lowe (Santa Clara), Linus Vaisanen (San Diego).

Women's WCC All-Academic Team: Lauren Atkinson (BYU), Taylor Camany (Santa Clara), Liv Cheng (Pepperdine), Alina Ching (Pepperdine), Michelle Condry (San Francisco), Genavive Dodge (Gonzaga), Victoria Fallgren (Gonzaga), Alice Kim (Gonzaga), Kaci McCartan (Santa Clara), Eyglo Oskarsdottir (San Francisco).