Basketball Announces 2009 West Coast Classic (MTE)

June 8, 2009

Santa Clara University will host the West Coast Classic next season in late November and early December. The Classic represents five different Division 1 conferences including the West Coast (Santa Clara), the Mountain West (San Diego State), Big Sky (Northern Arizona), Big West (Pacific) and WAC (Fresno State).

The West Coast Classic is considered one of the first of its kind because each school gets to host two home games. Santa Clara will host two games in the exempt event next season and can host an event like this once every five years.

"The opportunity to schedule up to 31 games in a season is difficult and by utilizing what is available to us by way of a multi-team event hopefully will provide all the schools that are involved more access to their own fan base," said Bronco head coach Kerry Keating, who will enter his third season at the helm next year. "We are glad we could make this come about and look forward to competing with the teams involved."

November 17 (All times TBA)

Fresno State at NAU

November 19

Santa Clara at San Diego State

Pacific at NAU

November 22

Santa Clara at Pacific

San Diego State at Fresno State

November 25

NAU at Santa Clara

Pacfic at Fresno State

November 28

Fresno State at Santa Clara

NAU at San Diego State

December 1

Pacific at San Diego State