March 9, 2011

Foster Named NABC First Team; Broncos to Host First Round CIT Game Tues., March 15

Broncos Getting Ready! Check out the Video!

Click here to buy tickets now for Santa Clara's CIT game on Tues., March 15!

Click here for Complete List of NABC All-District Teams

The nation's top three-point shooter and the West Coast Conference's leading scorer, Santa Clara sophomore-redshirt Kevin Foster has been named to the NABC All-District First Team.  He is the second player in three years to receive this honor under Bronco head coach Kerry Keating with John Bryant picking up the same honor in 2009.  Foster is just the 13th Bronco player in school history to be named to the All-District First Team. Foster will now be eligible for the State Farm Coaches' Division I All-America teams to be announced on Sat., April 4 as part of the NABC Convention in Houston at the Final Four.

"Congratulations to Kevin and all the members of the all-district teams. Kevin worked hard to come back from season ending surgery last year, and to be able to improve on his freshman year to the tune of a first team all district spot is very rewarding for our program," said Keating. "The future is bright for him and the bar has been set high, hopefully this will provide more incentive for him to continue his improvement!"

The Bronco basketball team will participate in the post-season for the first time in 15 years after accepting a spot in the 2011 Tournament (CIT).  The Broncos will host a home game Tues., March 15 in the Leavey Center against an opponent that is to be determined Sun., March 13 when the CIT bracket is announced. Tickets are available for the March 15 game by calling 408-554-4660 or by visiting  Current Santa Clara season-ticket holders should call (408-554-4660) or come into the ticket office to purchase their CIT tickets.  Click here to buy tickets now for Santa Clara's CIT game on Tues., March 15.

Foster leads the WCC in scoring in overall (19.4) and WCC games (20.7).  The Houston native is No. 1 in the country in threes made per game (3.5), threes made (117) and threes attempted (318).  He is No. 3 on the WCC single season list for threes made, tied with Dan Dickau of Gonzaga (117, 2002).  He needs four threes to move to No. 2 (Jeff Fryer, LMU, 1990) and nine threes to reach Fryer at No. 1 (126, 1989).  He is second on the team with 1.6 spg and 3.7 apg.  Foster has already broken the Bronco single season records in points scored (639), threes made (117) and threes attempted (318).  He was the first sophomore in the history of the WCC to scored 1,000 career points and has tallied 1,244 points, good enough for No. 21 on the Bronco career list.

 In 2009 Bryant was the first Bronco to be named to the All-District First Team since two-time NBA MVP Steve Nash was named for the second straight year in 1996. Bryant, the 2009 WCC Player of the Year under Keating, was the only Bronco in school history to score 1,600+ points, grab 1,100+ rebounds and block 200+ shots. Bryant finished his career at Santa Clara No. 1 in rebounds (1,152), No. 1 in blocks (246) and No. 6 in scoring (1,667). He is No. 1 in the country in double-doubles, rebounds per game and total rebounds. He was just the 30th player in the history of the NCAA to tally 26+ double-doubles in a season and only the third player in the 21st century.

 Joining Foster on the first team are two WCC players, Mickey McConnell of Saint Mary's College and Steven Gray of Gonzaga. Orlando Johnson of UC Santa Barbara and Casper Wade of Long Beach State University round out the first team. The second team was made up of Robert Sacre of Gonzaga, Rob Jones of Saint Mary's, Michael Williams of USF, Sam Willard of Pacific and Larry Anderson of Long Beach State.

The NABC All-District teams are selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC. The 245 student-athletes from 24 districts are eligible for the State Farm Coaches' Division I All-America teams to be announced April 2 at 9:30 a.m. EDT at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Houston during the NABC Convention and NCAA Final Four. 

About the National Association of Basketball Coaches 

Located in Kansas City, Mo., the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest "Phog" Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today's student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at



11-Kevin Foster (1)

09-John Bryant (1)

01-Brian Jones (2)

97-Marlon Garnett (2)

96-Steve Nash (1)

95-Steve Nash (1)

91-Rhea Taylor (2)

88-Jens Gordon (2)

86-Steve Kenilvort (2)

85-Harold Keeling (1)

85-Nick Vanos (1)

82-Bill Duffy (2)

80-Londale Theus (2)

80-Kurt Rambis (1)

79-Londale Theus (2)

78-Kurt Rambis (3)

78-Eddie Chavez (2)

77-Kurt Rambis (3)

73-Mike Stewart (1)

72-Mike Stewart (3)

69-Dennis Awtrey (1)

69-Bud Ogden (1)

68-Dennis Awtrey (3)

68-Bud Ogden (2)

63-K.C. Jackson (3)

60-Jim Russi (3)

60-Frank Sobrero (1)

59-Frank Sobrero (2)

55-Ken Sears (1)

54-Ken Sears (1)

54-Jim Young (2)

53-Ken Sears (HM)


(1) First Team selection

(2) Second Team selection

(3) Third Team selection

(HM) Honorable Mention