Sean Denison Named To USBWA All-District IX Team

Sean Denison Named To USBWA All-District IX Team

March 6, 2007

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Santa Clara University senior Sean Denison was named to the United States Basketball Writer's Association (USBWA) All-District IX team today. The forward from Nelson, British Columbia was one of nine players recognized by the USBWA in the district. District IX includes California, Oregon, Washington, Hawai'i, Arizona and Alaska. Denison was previously named West Coast Conference Co-Player of the Year and All-WCC First Team.

Denison shared WCC Player of the Year honors with Gonzaga's Derek Raivio and was also named to the All-WCC First Team for the first time in his career. The last Bronco WCC Player of the Year was in Marlon Garnett in 1997. Denison, a starter in all 29 of the Bronco regular season games, led the team with 10.9 points per game and shot a league-leading .598 from the field. He also had 22 blocks for the season and averaged a career high 6.3 rebounds and 1.3 assists per game, while posting five double-doubles. In conference games, Denison was even more impressive, scoring 11.8 points and averaging 7.6 rebounds per game. He shot 64 percent from the floor in those games to lead the league. The Broncos finished the regular season 20-9 and 10-4 in the WCC, good for second place. In the WCC Tournament, Denison helped lead the Broncos to the championship game, but SCU fell 77-68 to Gonzaga with Denison scoring 10 points. Denison is expected to graduate with a degree in physics this spring.

Santa Clara is currently 21-10 on the season and is awaiting word on a postseason bid. The NCAA Tournament and NIT selection committees announce their bids on Sunday, March 11.

All-District IX Team
Aaron Brooks, Oregon
Bobby Brown, CS Fullerton
Darren Collison, UCLA
Sean Denison, Santa Clara
Brandon Heath, San Diego State
Derrick Low, Washington State
Rodney Stuckey, Eastern Washington
Marcus Williams, Arizona
Nick Young, USC