NCAA Men's Tournament Pairings Announced Sunday

March 6, 2002

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - The Santa Clara University athletic department will be eagerly awaiting Sunday's NCAA men's basketball selection show not to see if the Broncos make the field of 65. Rather, they will be looking to find out which 16 teams will make up the tournament's West region and have the potential to advance to the San Jose event in just over two weeks.

The NCAA Selection Show will be broadcast nationally at 3 p.m. (Pacific) on CBS.

Santa Clara is the host institution for the West Regional that is scheduled for March 21-23 at the Compaq Center at San Jose. Athletic department officials are responsible for virtually every aspect of operating the tournament and ensuring the event runs to the precise requirements of the NCAA men's basketball committee.

"The opportunity to host a NCAA regional brings a great deal of prestige and national exposure to Santa Clara University," said Cheryl L. Levick, SCU's Director of Athletics and Recreation. "The eyes of the entire college basketball world will be on San Jose and Santa Clara University to see who will represent the West Regional at the NCAA Final Four. We are really excited about playing a major role in this event."

Fans will be able to find out pairings, game times and other information as soon as it is released by the NCAA and CBS by clicking here. Up-to-date tournament information can also be obtained by going to Tickets to the event sold out last spring. However, should any of the four teams advancing to the regional not purchase their full allotment, there is a chance they could be put on public sale the afternoon of March 20 through the Compaq Center at San Jose box office.

"March Madness" returns to the CBS Television Network when CBS Sports broadcasts the NCAA Men's Basketball Championship for the 21st consecutive season. Exclusive live network coverage begins on Thursday, March 14 and concludes on Monday, April 1 with the National Championship game from the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.

The Road to the Final Four, the Network's studio show, tips-off CBS's coverage of first round games on Thursday, March 14 and Friday, March 15 (Noon-5 p.m., ET, and 7:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m., ET, both days) and is hosted by Greg Gumbel and Clark Kellogg from the CBS Broadcast Center in New York City.

CBS Sports will broadcast the newly expanded one-hour NCAA Basketball Championship Selection Show on Sunday, March 10 (6-7 p.m., ET), during which the exclusive live, first-time announcement of pairings for the NCAA Tournament are made. The show originates from the CBS Broadcast Center in New York.

Following is the CBS Sports roster of announce teams for first- and second-round action, led by Jim Nantz and Emmy Award-winning analyst Billy Packer. This mark's the 12th consecutive year the duo will call college basketball's premier event.

Play-By-Play Analyst Reporter
Jim Nantz Billy Packer Bonnie Bernstein
Dick Enberg Matt Guokas Armen Keteyian
Verne Lundquist Bill Raftery Lesley Visser
Gus Johnson Dan Bonner Solomon Wilcots
Kevin Harlan Jon Sundvold Spencer Tillman
Tim Brando Eddie Fogler Charles Davis
Ian Eagle Jim Spanarkel Dwayne Ballen
Craig Bolerjack Bob Wenzel Brett Haber

Bob Dekas is coordinating producer of CBS Sports' NCAA basketball coverage, and Bob Fishman is the lead director. Eric Mann is Senior Producer. Mann, David Winner and Vin DeVito produce The Road to the Final Four studio coverage. Bob Matina directs.

Terry Ewert is Executive Producer, CBS Sports.