Three Broncos Earn All-WCC honors

Three Broncos Earn All-WCC honors

Feb. 28, 2005

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Four Santa Clara University men's basketball players were honored by league coaches as members of the 2005 All-West Coast Conference squads, the conference office announced today.

Bronco senior guard Doron Perkins was the only first-team all-conference selection, while fellow backcourt mate Kyle Bailey and junior forward Travis Niesen earned honorable mention honors. Redding, Calif.-native Brody Angley was selected to the WCC all-Freshman team.

Perkins, the league leader in steals with an average of 2.5 per game, is the only player in the WCC to rank among the conference's top 10 in points, rebounds, assists, steals and assist/turnover ratio. The Anchorage, Alaska native leads Santa Clara with an average of 16.0 points and 6.0 rebounds per game.

Bailey, a native of Fairbanks, Alaska, is second in the WCC in assists with an average of 4.14 per game. He is third on the Broncos in scoring, pouring in 14.6 points per outing. Bailey is the school's all-time leader in minutes played, appearances and three-point attempts.

Niesen, a Mission Viejo, Calif. native, is second on the team in scoring with an average of 15.2 points per game. He ranks ninth in the WCC in free throw percentage, connecting on over 81 percent of his attempts. He eclipsed the 30-point barrier twice during the season with 35 against Portland and 31 versus Stanford.

Angley, Northern California's all-time career rushing leader in football as a prep at Enterprise High School, started 20 of his 29 apperances as a true freshman. He earned his second career start against fourth-ranked North Carolina in the Pete Newell Challenge and responded with eight points, seven rebounds and five assists against the Tar Heels.

2005 Men's Basketball All-Conference

First Team
Alex Acker - Pepperdine
John Cox - San Francisco
Brandon Gay - San Diego
Daniel Kickert - Saint Mary's
Paul Marigney - Saint Mary's
Glen McGowan - Pepperdine
Adam Morrison - Gonzaga
Doron Perkins - Santa Clara
Derek Raivio - Gonzaga
Ronny Turiaf - Gonzaga

Honorable Mention
Kyle Bailey - Santa Clara
J.P. Batista - Gonzaga
Eugene "Pooh" Jeter - Portland
Matthew Knight - Loyola Marymount
Travis Niesen - Santa Clara
Tyrone Riley - San Francisco
E.J. Rowland - Saint Mary's
Brice Vounang - San Diego

Player of the Year - Ronny Turiaf, Gonzaga
Defender of the Year - Erroll Knight, Gonzaga
Newcomer of the Year - J.P. Batista, Gonzaga
Coach of the Year - Mark Few, Gonzaga

All-Freshmen Team
Brody Angley - Santa Clara
Kingsley Costain - Pepperdine
Russell Hicks - Pepperdine
Marcus Lewis - Portland
David Pendergraft - Gonzaga

New Park, Old Times
May 1, 2005 New Park, Old Times
Seeing Is Acheiving
April 27, 2005 Seeing Is Acheiving
Broncos Blank Cal Poly, 3-0
February 27, 2005 Broncos Blank Cal Poly, 3-0
Baseball Tops Cal Poly, 8-5
February 26, 2005 Baseball Tops Cal Poly, 8-5
Bronco Talk With Steve Seandel
February 19, 2005 Bronco Talk With Steve Seandel
A Stream of Consciousness
February 16, 2005 A Stream of Consciousness
Low Profile At High Speed
February 13, 2005 Low Profile At High Speed
New Stadium Buoys Broncos
January 27, 2005 New Stadium Buoys Broncos
Diamond a Great Gift
December 10, 2004 Diamond a Great Gift