Santa Clara Finishes Cross Country Season

Santa Clara Finishes Cross Country Season

Nov. 15, 2008

Santa Clara closed out its cross country season with the two teams competing at the NCAA West Regional on the Stanford Golf Course on Sat., Nov. 15. Running in very hot conditions, the Bronco women finished in 19th place with 469 points; and the men finished tied with Boise State for 21st with 584 points.

"Robbie Reid had another outstanding race, finishing as one of the top underclassmen in the race," said head coach Tom Service. "He may finish as one of our best-ever and has a very bright future ahead of him the next two years. Alex has been injured as was Chris Gumbs and they both really ran well. Chris Sampson also ran hard. Chris Mosier, a sophomore, rounded out the scoring with a good effort.

"The women put it out there. Veronica ran really well as did Stephanie," said Service. "We finished just two points behind USF which was a hard pill to swallow, but I am proud of their effort."

The Bronco women were led by Veronica Vazquez, who finished 63rd at 21:36.62, the second-best ever Bronco women's finish. She was closely followed by Stephanie Wilson in 70th place at 21:43.86. Whitney Porter finished in 99th place at 22:09.91 and Jennifer Clarke was in 100th place at 22:11.09. Noelle Lopez crossed the line at 22:42.06 to finish 137th and rounded out the Broncos scoring. The women were the fourth WCC team to finish, with Portland finishing fifth, LMU was 16th and USF was 18th, just two.

The Broncos men were led by Reid, who finished 69th at 31:14.35. Harkins finished 112th at 32:25.86; Chris Sampson was 125th at 32:53.41; Gumbs was 130th at 32:59.39 and Mosier rounded out the scoring, finishing in 147th place at 33:29.02. Santa Clara finished as the fourth WCC team with WCC champion Portland finishing third, USF 16th and LMU 17th.

The Oregon men won the meet with, Stanford's men's team claiming an automatic berth to the NCAA Championships on Nov. 24 with a second place finish and Portland finishing third.

Galen Rupp of Oregon won the men's title with a time of 27:41.24. Rupp, a 2008 Olympian, extended his lead throughout the race to win by 51 seconds.

The women's race was dominated by Washington who took the title with 25 points despite resting two of their top seven runners, including Pac-10 Champion Kendra Schaaf. Oregon finished second with 62 points, while Stanford was third with 91.