Broncos Athletics

2011 Senior Awards Night

2011 Senior Awards Night

May 25, 2010

View Photos from the night! 

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - The Santa Clara University athletic department recently hosted its annual Senior Awards event on May 25, recognizing outstanding senior athletes and teams at the event. The Senior Awards date back to at least the 1970s.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) members submit nominations for the Senior Awards and voting is conducted by the Senior Staff of the Athletic Department.

See the whole list of winners here.

Below are the winners from 2011.

Henry Schmidt Award (1 recipient) Named in honor of a former head athletics trainer, Henry was a dedicated and inspirational member of Santa Clara Athletics for more than 50 years. The Henry Schmidt Award is given annually to the school's top senior female athlete from the sports of basketball, soccer or volleyball.

2011 Winner: Lena Gipson (Women’s Basketball)

Victor Corsiglia Award (1 recipient) Victor Corsiglia was a long-time supporter of Santa Clara Athletics from the 1950's through the 1970's. He is best known for his big barbeques, which he put on by himself for over 20 years. The Victor Corsiglia Award is given annually to the school's top senior male athlete from the sports of baseball, basketball or soccer.

2011 Winner: Troy Payne (Men’s Basketball)

Pat Malley Awards for Men and Women (2 recipients) Pat Malley was the embodiment of Santa Clara Athletics for many years. A legendary football coach and athletics director for 26 years, he is best known for his amazing dedication and commitment to students and athletes. The Pat Malley Award is presented annually to one male and one female senior athlete who best demonstrate the qualities or attitude, character, desire, competitive spirit and the will to excel both on and off the field of play.

2011 Female Winner: Wren White (Women’s Water Polo)

2011 Male Winner: Ben Dowdell (Men’s Basketball)

James D. Farwell Awards for Men and Women (2 recipients) James Farwell was founder and long-time coach of the Santa Clara University Men's Rowing program. The James D. Farwell Award is awarded annually to one male and one female senior athlete from the sports of cross country, golf, rowing, softball, tennis, track & water polo who best combine academic and athletic excellence.

2011 Male Winner: Stephen Hobbs (Men’s Water Polo)

2011 Female Winner: Stephanie Wilson (Women’s Cross Country)

Jim Jennings Award (1 recipient) Jim Jennings, or "J.J." as he is commonly known, served as a volunteer in the Santa Clara Athletics Department for more than 20 years. The Jim Jennings Award is presented annually to a male or female senior non-athlete most distinguished for unselfish and loyal service to the Athletics Department. Candidates eligible for this award may be team managers, student trainers or student assistants in media relations, marketing, game management, facilities or other Athletics Department units.

2011 Winner: Ramon Meacham (Senior Manager of Men’s Basketball)

Bronco Spirit Award (2 team recipients) Spirit and pride are traditional hallmarks of athletics at Santa Clara University. One male team and one female team that best display the tangible attributes of Bronco spirit are annually recognized as outstanding examples of this spirit among the student-athlete population.

2011 Male Team Winner: Men’s Cross Country

2011 Female Team Winner: Women’s Basketball

Carroll Williams Award (1 recipient) The Carroll Williams Award, is awarded to a senior athlete who best demonstrates academic and athletic excellence while making an outstanding contribution in the area of community service.

2011 Winner: Chris Freeburg (Men’s Rowing)

DJ Frandsen Award (1 recipient) The DJ Frandsen Award, in honor of the former Men's Basketball team manager and athletic supporter, is given to a male or female senior athlete who has used courage, perseverance, and spirit to overcome adversity and now serves as a role model for hope and inspiration for others to follow.

2011 Winner: Becky Goll (Women’s Basketball)

Team GPA Award: Male & Female Team (Presented to the top male and female team with the highest GPA for the Fall and Winter Term)

Men’s Cross Country/Track & Women’s Cross Country/Track

Senior Academic Award: Male and Female Individual

Stephanie Wilson (Women’s Cross Country)

Curtis Wagner (Baseball)


Congratulations Broncos!