Broncos Athletics

Women's Club Lacrosse Enters Tournament No. 2 seed nationally

April 22, 2009

The Santa Clara women's lacrosse club team enters the 2009 US Lacrosse Women's Division Intercollegiate Associates (WDIA) National Championship Tournament as the No. 2 seed. UC Santa Barbara is the No. 1 seed. The 16-team tournament, presented by Brine, will be held May 6-9 at the Scottsdale Sports Complex in Scottsdale, Ariz. The championship game is set for May 9 at 12:30 p.m.

UCSB completed an 18-2 season record with a 12-10 victory over No. 2 ranked Santa Clara in the Western Women's Lacrosse League championship game, earning the league's automatic bid to the tournament.

To learn more about tournament visit:

The Tournament Schedule:

Santa Clara's Club Team Website:

Six other teams earned automatic qualifiers to the tournament field by virtue of winning conference championships: No. 7 seed Lindenwood (Women's Collegiate Lacrosse League), No. 10 seed Florida (Southeastern Women's Lacrosse League), No. 13 seed Minnesota (North Central Women's Lacrosse League), No. 14 seed Texas (Texas Women's Lacrosse League), No. 15 seed Connecticut Club (New England Women's Lacrosse League) and No. 16 seed West Chester Club (East Coast Women's Lacrosse Association).

Nine at-large invitations were also awarded: No. 2 seed Santa Clara, No. 3 seed Colorado State, No. 4 seed Colorado, No. 5 seed Cal Poly, No. 6 seed Virginia Tech Club, No. 8 seed Michigan, No. 9 seed UCLA, No. 11 seed Central Florida and No. 12 seed Georgia.

First Round Games

No. 1 UC Santa Barbara vs. No. 16 West Chester Club

No. 2 Santa Clara vs. No. 15 Connecticut Club

No. 3 Colorado State vs. No. 14 Texas

No. 4 Colorado vs. No. 13 Minnesota

No. 5 Cal Poly vs. No. 12 Georgia

No. 6 Virginia Tech Club vs. No. 11 Central Florida

No. 7 Lindenwood vs. No. 10 Florida

No. 8 Michigan vs. No. 9 UCLA