Broncos Athletics

Brand Named NCAA President

Oct. 11, 2002

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Following a seven-month search, the NCAA Executive Committee today named Myles Brand, president of Indiana University, NCAA president-elect. Brand becomes the fourth chief executive officer for the Association and will assume his new duties January 1, 2003.

The president-elect succeeds Cedric W. Dempsey, who announced his retirement in January and whose eight-year tenure as the Association's CEO concludes January 1, 2003. Brand was selected from a group of three finalists interviewed earlier today by the Executive Committee. His contract concludes December 31, 2007.

"The committee has made an excellent choice," said Robert Lawless, Executive Committee chair and president of the University of Tulsa. "President-elect Brand in every way continues the high standards of leadership and integrity that have characterized the first three executive directors or presidents of the NCAA."

Lawless, who also served as chair of the presidential search committee, called Brand one of the premier college presidents in America and "a leader both on his campus and nationally within higher education."

Brand has been president of Indiana since 1994, and came to the Bloomington, Indiana, campus from a similar position at the University of Oregon where he was president from 1989 to 1994. At Indiana, he has served as CEO of a Big Ten Conference university with eight campuses, nearly 100,000 students, 17,000 employees and a budget of $3.4 billion.

He has also served as chair of the board of directors of the Association of American Universities (AAU), 1999-2000; a member of the board of directors, 1992-97, and executive committee, 1994-97, of the American Council on Education (ACE); and a member of the board of directors of the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges (NASULGC), 1995-98.

He is currently a member of the Business-Higher Education Forum and a member of the executive committee of the Indiana Conference on Higher Education.

During his tenure at Indiana, the university's endowment increased four-fold to over $1 billion, and the number of endowed faculty positions tripled to over 360. During the same time, research funding more than doubled to $400 million, and Brand oversaw the consolidation of university hospitals and Methodist Hospitals to Clarian Healthcare.

Born May 17, 1942, Brand earned a bachelor of science degree in philosophy from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1964, and a doctor of philosophy degree in philosophy from the University of Rochester in 1967.

The president-elect's other administrative posts include provost and vice president for academic affairs, Ohio State University, 1986-l989; coordinating dean, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Arizona, 1985-86; dean, faculty of social and behavioral sciences, Arizona, 1983-86; director, Cognitive Science Program, Arizona, 1982-85; head, department of philosophy, Arizona, 1981-83; chairman, department of philosophy, University of Illinois at Chicago, 1972-80; and assistant chairman, department of philosophy, University of Pittsburgh, 1971-72.

Lawless noted that Brand was the unanimous choice of the Executive Committee from among the three finalists. He also explained that the search committee did not make a recommendation to the Executive Committee among the finalists. Serving on the search committee in addition to Lawless were Executive Committee members Milton Gordon, president of California State University, Fullerton; Robert Hemenway, chair of the Division I Board of Directors and chancellor of the University of Kansas; Patricia Cormier, chair of the Division II Presidents Council and president of Longwood University; and Bette Landman, chair of the Division III Presidents Council and president of Arcadia University. Assisting in the search was the firm of Baker-Parker of Atlanta, Georgia.

The finalists were selected from a group of 11 interviewed by the search committee during September, and the group of 11 had been narrowed by the search committee from a total of 118 candidates nominated for the position. According to Dan Parker of Baker-Parker, the 118 candidates included 103 males, 15 females. He said that 10 of the nominations came from intercollegiate athletics, 29 from higher education, 10 from government and 69 from the corporate world.

"The search committee was charged with developing a diverse pool of candidates qualified to fill this important position," Lawless said. "I believe we met the charge. When we narrowed the field to the 11 we interviewed, there were 10 males and one female, of which three were ethnic minorities. Those individuals came from the highest levels of responsibility and leadership in sports, education, government and business."

In his report to the Executive Committee earlier in the day, Lawless noted that the search firm met all of the search committee's expectations and every deadline. In its search for qualified candidates, Baker-Parker sought out the help of a long list of sources, including:

  • Members of NCAA Management Councils, Presidents Councils, Board of Directors, and Student-Athletes Advisory Committee representatives in all three divisions.

  • NCAA national office senior executives and diverse group of NCAA managers.

  • Representatives of coaches associations, affiliated organizations and key leaders within intercollegiate athletics.

  • All 113 conference commissioners.

  • Presidents of historically black colleges and universities.

  • More than 5,000 representatives of NCAA member institutions.

  • Members of the Secretary of Education's Commission on Athletic Opportunity.

  • Top executives at Fortune 200 companies.

  • Top executives at sports-related companies (50 letters including ones to Nike, Reebok International and Converse, Inc.)

  • Members of Fortune Magazine's "50 Most Powerful Women in Business."

  • More than 40 letters to top national associations such as AARP, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, and the Motion Picture Association of America.

  • Members of Fortune Magazine's "Most Powerful Black Executives."