Broncos Athletics

Athletic Department Honors Seniors at Awards Banquet

Athletic Department Honors Seniors at Awards Banquet

May 28, 2002

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - The Santa Clara University Athletic Department wrapped up the 2001-02 academic year with its annual Senior Awards Banquet, held tonight at the Brass Rail on campus. Senior student-athletes Sean Eirich (men's crew), Caroline Gruening (women's basketball), Jay Moorhead (men's water polo), Anne Schlotman (women's crew), Danielle Slaton (women's soccer), and Jeff Stewart (men's soccer) received senior awards to honor their career achievements. A special award was presented to senior men's basketball manager D.J. Frandsen for his longtime service to the athletic department.

The banquet's theme was "Remember the Broncos," a play on Disney's popular 2000 live-action drama "Remember the Titans." Senior men's basketball player David Emslie made a guest appearance as Bucky, the Broncos' mascot, and made a dramatic entrance, wowing the crowd with his moves to Michael Jackson's "Thriller" as he moon-walked through the audience to reach the stage and start the evening.

Student-athletes and staff members participated in the `Academy Awards' of SCU Athletics, presenting the nominees and award winners. The event earned `two-thumbs up' from the more than 200 student-athletes and athletic department staff. It was also the second successful event hosted by the Student Athlete Leadership Council in as many weeks, following the first-ever Athlete Ball.

As with the movie, the awards celebrated not only the student-athletes' actions on the field throughout the past year, but their character and pride in what being a Bronco is all about.

Slaton, who led the Broncos to the NCAA Championship in December, received the Henry Schmidt award. Named in honor of Santa Clara's first head athletics trainer, the Henry Schmidt Award is given annually to the school's top senior female athlete from the sports of basketball, soccer or volleyball. Santa Clara's first four time All-American is currently a starter for the Women's United Soccer Association's Carolina Courage. Slaton accepted her award via videotape while her parents, Frank and Sandy, were in attendance and accepted the award on her behalf.

Stewart received the men's equivalent of Slaton's award, named after Victor Corsiglia, a long-time supporter of Bronco Athletics from the 1950s through the 70s. Stewart was named the West Coast Conference's Player of the Year and was instrumental in leading the Broncos to back-to-back College Cup appearances.

Eirich and Gruening were recipients of the Pat Malley Awards. Named after legendary football coach and athletic director Pat Malley, the award is presented to one male and one female senior athlete who best demonstrates the qualities or attitude, character, desire, competitive spirit and the will to excel both on and off the field of play.

Moorhead and Schlotman were named recipients of the James D. Farwell Awards. Founder and long-time coach of the SCU Men's Rowing program, Farwell's inspirational work is carried on today by his son and current men's rowing coach Jay Farwell. The award is presented annually to one male and one female senior athlete from the sports of cross country, golf, rowing, softball, tennis and water polo who best combine academic and athletic excellence.

The Jim Jennings Award was presented to Frandsen, a three-year team manager for the men's basketball team. Given yearly to a non-athlete that is most distinguished for unselfish and loyal service to the Athletics Department, Frandsen's unbelievable dedication and support embodies what "JJ" - as most of came to know Jennings - meant to the athletic department as a 20-year volunteer.

The final honor of the evening was the Carroll Williams Award, presented by SALC to Gruening The award is given to a male or female senior athlete who best exemplifies the ideals or leadership and community service and named after SCU's longtime men's basketball coach and athletic director. Members of the SALC nominate and select the winner of this award.

Bronco spirit awards were presented for the first time by the department and were given to the men's cross country, men's tennis and softball teams for their outstanding examples of Bronco spirit among the student-athlete population. The softball squad was boisterous at many Bronco road events, including the WCC Cross Country Championships and men's tennis matches at Stanford and UC Santa Barbara. Cross country and tennis returned the favor, with their attendance at softball games, as well as basketball contests.

Although the event was hosted by the athletic department, the night would not have been as successful without the help of two seniors, Kerry Cathcart of women's soccer and Roland Bailie of sports medicine, as well as junior Dan Galvin of the marketing department. Cathcart designed the poster pictured above, while Bailie was instrumental in putting together the slide/video presentation. Galvin, known as `DJ Dan', kept the crowd entertained with music.


2001-02 Senior Awards Recipients

Henry Schmidt Award, Danielle Slaton
Victor Corsiglia Award, Jeff Stewart
Pat Malley Award for Men, Sean Eirich
Pat Malley Award for Women, Caroline Gruening
James D. Farwell Award for Men, Jay Moorhead
James D. Farwell Award for Women, Anne Schlotman
Jim Jennings Award, D.J. Frandsen
Carroll Williams Award, Caroline Gruening

For a list of past winners, please click here.


2001-02 Senior Award Presenters

Justin Ahasic, Men's Golf
Erich Chen, Men's Tennis
Courtney Daniels, Women's Cross Country
Sean Eirich, Men's Crew
Burke Ewers, Men's Soccer
Grant Feichtmeir, Baseball
Kenny Flanagan, Men's Water Polo
Caroline Gruening, Women's Basketball
Dominick Guidera, Men's Cross Country
Kristi Harrington, Softball
Justin Holbrook, Men's Basketball
Tony Johnson, Men's Cross Country
Tina Lennox, Women's Crew
Nicole McCord, Women's Tennis
Holly Miller, Women's Crew
Chardonnay Poole, Women's Soccer
Becky Potter, Volleyball
Matt Riley, Men's Crew
Pati Ruiz, Women's Tennis
Sara Schmitt, Women's Water Polo
Lacey Smale, Softball


2001-02 Seniors

Baseball - A.J. Ampi, Joey Gomes, Pat Peavey
Men's Basketball - David Emslie, Justin Holbrook, Steve Ross, Brian Vaka, Jason Westphal
Women's Basketball - Becki Ashbaugh, Caroline Gruening
Men's Crew - Sean Eirich, John Lingbeck
Women's Crew - Katie Collord, Nikole Kaldestad, Jennifer King, Anne Schlotman
Men's Golf - Sandy Horacek
Men's Soccer - Keith Burden, Justin Canel, Anthony Chimienti, Tony Cota, Rusty Johnson, Jeff Stewart
Women's Soccer - Ynez Carrasco, Kerry Cathcart, Anna Kraus, Katie Sheppard, Danielle Slaton
Softball - Kristi Harrington, Deanna Rodriguez, Sydney Wiginton
Men's Tennis - Victor Camargo
Women's Tennis - Nicole McCord
Volleyball - Jami Bari, Merrin Thompson
Men's Water Polo - Bryan Failing, Jay Moorhead, Dan O'Connell
Women's Water Polo - Sara Schmitt