Broncos Athletics

Athletic Department Honors Seniors

May 17, 2001

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - The Santa Clara Athletic Department wrapped up the 2000-01 academic year with its annual Senior Awards Banquet, held last night at the Leavey Center. Seniors Heather Aldama (women's soccer), Jamie Holmes (men's basketball), Jeff Raegen (men's water polo), Annie Garrison (women's basketball), Tony Okano (men's golf), Ellie Guy (women's cross country) and Charlie Brenneman (men's cross country) received senior awards to honor their career achievements. A special award was presented to senior marketing assistant Nik Mecchi-Ericson for his longtime service to the athletic department.

Aldama, the West Coast Conference's Player of the Year in 2000, received the Henry Schmidt award. Named in honor of Santa Clara's first head athletics trainer, the Henry Schmidt Award is given annually to the school's top senior female athlete from the sports of basketball, soccer or volleyball. The All-American is currently a starter for the Women's United Soccer Association's Boston Breakers. She will graduate in June with a bachelor's in liberal arts.

Holmes received the men's equivalent of Aldama's award, named after Victor Corsiglia, a long-time supporter of Bronco Athletics from the 1950s through the 70s. Holmes earned his bachelor's in history and is currently working on a graduate degree in education. He was named to two All-Tournament teams last season and scored in double figures in 14 straight contests.

Raegen and Garrison were recipients of the Pat Malley Awards. Named after legendary football coach and athletic director Pat Malley, the award is presented to one male and one female senior athlete who best demonstrates the qualities or attitude, character, desire, competitive spirit and the will to excel both on and off the field of play.

Okano and Guy were named recipients of the James D. Farwell Awards. Founder and long-time coach of the SCU Men's Rowing program, Farwell's inspirational work is carried on today by his son and current men's rowing coach Jay Farwell. The award is presented annually to one male and one female senior athlete from the sports of cross country, golf, rowing, softball, tennis and water polo who best combine academic and athletic excellence.

The Jim Jennings Award was presented to Mecchi-Ericson, a game event manager for the marketing department. Given yearly to a non-athlete that is most distinguished for unselfish and loyal service to the Athletics Department, Mecchi-Ericson's unbelievable dedication and support embodies what "JJ" - as most of came to know Jennings - meant to the athletic department as a 20-year volunteer.

The final honor of the evening was the Carroll Williams Award, presented by the Student-Athlete Leadership Committee to Brenneman. The award is presented to a male or female senior athlete who best exemplifies the ideals or leadership and community service and named after SCU's longtime men's basketball coach and athletic director. Members of the SALC nominate and select the winner of this award.

2000-2001 Senior Awards Recipients
Henry Schmidt Award, Heather Aldama
Victor Corsiglia Award, Jamie Holmes
Pat Malley Award for Men, Jeff Raegen
Pat Malley Award for Women, Annie Garrison
James D. Farwell Award for Men, Tony Okano
James D. Farwell Award for Women, Ellie Guy
Jim Jennings Award, Nik Mecchi-Ericson
Carroll Williams Award, Charlie Brenneman